top of page

Art can be educational, political, funny or just for arts sake- Faye Donnellan

On my 21st birthday, a very pivotal age, my mum said something really unusual before I opened my biggest present. She said “this gift I know you will cherish forever because this item represents something and someone that I know has become so important to you over

the last few years, he’s not my cup of tea, but whenever you feel lost or doubtful about the material you want to make, this item will hopefully bring you back to the centre of why you want to do the thing that you do".


God! The anticipation built up quickly after she made that speech! Once she was finished, I ripped the wrapping off, and like Mum's always are, she was so right.


I beamed the biggest smile, so much so that even my mouth began to hurt. My mum had bought me a wooden, chic, matte black, Pulp Fiction poster by one of my all-time favourite artists, Quentin Tarantino. As somebody who is trying to make it in the creative world, these first years of giving it a go, have already begun to doubt myself terribly. I was seeking people’s validation to like me and my work when I knew they wouldn’t fully understand the vision, but I still did it anyway. Until I did my research on Quentin.


He’s an inspiration to me because he makes what he wants. He presents skill and passion and new ways of making, his outspoken and imagination strategy of “oh, but what if ... ” makes him an incredible story teller, a dangerous thinker, an ambitious human being and I can’t get enough.


Some of his films are better than others (it’s a toss up between Pulp Fiction and Django unchained as my favourites for his work). However, today I want to discuss a film that he made and the reasons behind what this film does to artists who doubt themselves and hopefully leads them to practice making stuff we actually want to make.


I’ll take it back. So In the mind of Tarantino In 2007, he releases Death Proof. Which was his take on the bygone television era( a very specific genre of thriller television) , but then flips it on his head, by making it Tarantino-esqe by doing it as a violent parody version. He even quotes to the Hollywood Reporter that “ Death Proof would be the worst movie he would make, just doing it for a bit of a laugh and that whenever he is on set he will do it again because HE LOVES MAKING MOVIES. “


Well, if money grew on trees then I wish I could do as epically as Death Proof, but his passion you could attach to any form of creativity. Make projects that are full of heart and write scripts that might only matter to you, or be found funny by yourself. Well fuck me sideways. If that is the worst film he ever made, then thanks for the lesson you taught me Mr Quentin.


How fun would it be to do work without always looking for the validation of others? Have a rainbow of work that is 100% of my choosing, enjoy the process and love looking back because that is what I wanted to make.


The film shows Quentin's belief in doing what's right; a bigger women to men ratio in the cast. Giving the female actors actions and dialogue that encourages the audience to laugh and champion these girls whilst being their divine feminine selves. Recognising the talent of stuntmen and stunt women and their dedication to an art form that is so under looked in the creative industry


And finally and most importantly in my opinion, the practicality of doing everything for real, he doesn't rely on technology to do a human’s job, which I believe is true storytelling.


It may not be the best film or made the most profit, but it has taught me that art can reach an audience because of the personal passion put into it and what the work can mean to others if you trust yourself.


Faye Donnellan: Actor/Writer @faye_donnellan www.fayedonnellan.co.uk




64 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page