top of page

Combating Tall Poppy Syndrome: An Australian Woman’s Perspective by Angelica Willis

Why is it embarrassing for me to post about accomplishments? Why do I feel the need to downplay my skills and achievements? Why do I feel weird about posting that I am doing well overseas? Why do I feel like I am showing off when I do build up the courage to post? 


These are the feelings of tall poppy syndrome. 


My name is Angelica Willis and I am an Australian creative living in Liverpool. Since I moved from Tasmania, I have suffered a lot of feelings associated with tall poppy syndrome. Tall Poppy Syndrome is a social phenomenon which refers to the idea of people who deliberately resent, dislike or criticise others for their accomplishments. The name of the phenomenon is from the idea that if one poppy is taller than the others in a field, it should be cut down. 


Australian Culture and Tall Poppy Syndrome


Tall Poppy Syndrome is exclusively an Australian and New Zealander term. Australia’s national identity is of an egalitarian society which values everyone having a ‘fair-go’ (even though that may not be the case for every Australian). Australians do not like to see anyone getting too ahead of themselves, we need to be perceived as humble, hardworking and self-deprecating to be liked. Being arrogant and boastful is not a good thing but showing your accomplishments isn’t either. The idea that it is arrogance assumes that tall poppies are being ‘cut down’ due to the actions when it could be potential envy and/or insecurities of the cutter.


To add to this, Australia is known for its laid-back and chill culture if you go against the norm it is seen as negative. For instance, I grew up in a rural predominantly white town in Tasmania and from a young age I knew I needed to leave my hometown due to feeling like an outsider for being non-white and I felt there was a lack of opportunities for me. I moved to Hobart which is the largest Tasmanian city and it felt like home. I was also studying a media and sociology degree at University. There are already enough misconceptions about having an arts degree but the patronising comments are enhanced if you grew up in a rural town due to a sense of anti-intellectualism and hostility towards education from the locals. In a rural town, it is viewed as better if you get a job in the trades or agriculture. My Tall Poppy Syndrome could stem from the judgement I feel back in my hometown that working in creative industries is not ‘real work’. However, in actuality, I have found many opportunities to find jobs that are creative and worked hard to get them opportunities.


I have not lived in the UK for too long. I arrived in April 2023 and have been moving around the country until settling down in Liverpool in September 2023. Although the Tall Poppy Syndrome term began in Australia and New Zealand, I believe it is in the UK as well. There are also articles based in the UK that mention Tall Poppy Syndrome such as one article that reads ‘It is time Britain rid itself of its entrenched tall poppy syndrome’ . Since I arrived, I felt the need to prove myself to people who live here about my background. It is as though I do not want them to think I am a rich Australian girl who got money from my parents to move here. I was raised by a single mum and growing up we would be considered ‘poor’. I like to prove that I worked hard to get here, that I won University scholarships and that I worked two jobs. I feel as though it is my way of proving that I should be here. It is a defence mechanism because I fear that I will be cut down if I do not have my humble beginnings.


Women and Tall Poppy Syndrome


A 2023 international study uncovered the impacts of Tall Poppy Syndrome on women in the workplace. The participants were women from different demographics and professions in 103 countries. The study found that almost 90% (86.6%) of participants experienced Tall Poppy Syndrome at work. It also revealed that women who were viewed as successful were bullied, belittled and challenged due to their successes. The study also explained that women who experienced Tall Poppy Syndrome faced problems with mental health and self-confidence. They felt as though they should not take up so much space at work. 


Although men can be perpetrators and victims of Tall Poppy Syndrome, the behaviours mostly affect women as we are likely to use other women’s successes as evidence of our failures. This is evident when women are pitted against each other in competition in either a self-inflicted or societally-induced way. In society, women are often unconsciously raised to see one another as competitors. This mindset extends from childhood into adulthood in ways such as career jealousy, personal milestones, relationships etc. 


A 2018 study by Dr Rumeet Billan titled The Tallest Poppy shows that people experience Tall Poppy Syndrome among their friends and social peers. This leads people to stop sharing their milestones with people whom they should trust due to fear of being resented.


There is a double standard between men and women who obtain success. Success is seen as a ‘natural male tendency’ to work hard and achieve greatness. When men share their accomplishments with others, it is seen as confidence. When they reward themselves for their hard work with luxuries, they are admired. When a woman is successful, they are labelled as arrogant, greedy and pretentious. 


There is more of an expectation for women to be humble and if they are viewed as arrogant it is met with criticism and shame. It is as though if a woman’s poppy stem grows taller than a culturally agreed norm, she should be cut down. Women may feel the need to downplay our accomplishments and conform in fear of negative backlash and attention. 


The 2023 study also found that men in leadership positions were more likely to penalise or undermine women due to their success. However, women were more likely to cut down their peers or colleagues. Fragile men seem as though they are intimidated by the success of women. But it hurts more that some women do not uplift each other. It is not entirely women’s fault if we do so, it is the fault of the patriarchy that only has a small amount of opportunities for women to succeed.


Steps to Combat Tall Poppy Syndrome


The thought of eliminating Tall Poppy Syndrome is hard and seems impossible. However, progress starts within ourselves. It is important to recognise and consciously admit our feelings to begin the process of changing them whether you are the perpetrator or victim of tall poppy syndrome. In an interview with Harper’s Bazaar Dr Billan explains “We can begin to break the mould by first becoming the critic of our inner critic and realistically challenging the negative communication that we use with ourselves - It’s also important to reflect on whose validation we seek — whose opinion we put value on and why.”


The person who is tearing you down is likely to be going through challenges and insecurities. This does not mean that their behaviour is justified, but it adds context to the situation. According to Dr Billan, understanding this can assist in stopping the feelings of jealousy that can result in cutting down an individual,  “When we choose to silence a Tall Poppy and cut one down, we are also cutting down those who would follow in their footsteps, those who would look up to them as role models, and those who would then pave the way for others.”


It is important to seek programs and endeavours that allow you to be confident in yourself and your abilities. This is one of the reasons why the Wicked Women course has helped me identify my feelings of insecurity in my work and helped me define myself as a creative. Wicked Women uplifts women and I do not feel the need to justify my background or experiences among the cohort. The course is run by women and creates a creative space for women by teaching us skills and networking with others. Instead of women feeling like they should not take space, it makes room for women to do so. One of the tasks I had to do during the course was to define myself as an artist and I found it difficult. I felt like an imposter putting down ‘filmmaker, writer and photographer’. I felt the need to put the words ‘beginner’ or ‘aspiring’, however, I embraced my confidence and thought back to all the projects I have been part of. It made me realise that I do have the skills to not be a ‘beginner’ or ‘aspiring’ as I have been filmmaking for over four years. Wicked Women and courses alike are important since there are limited opportunities for women creatives so we must uplift each other. We should celebrate our successes and have pride in ourselves without the fear of judgement.


To conclude, I want women to be the tallest poppy and to grow taller and taller. Better yet, build a garden of poppies and inspire others to do the same by spreading your creativity and joy to the community. 


Angelica is an Australian filmmaker and writer based in Liverpool and is currently on the Wicked Women course. See her work here and follow her here on instagram.



60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page