top of page

I create Monsters... Introducing Meg Hankin!

Hi! My name is Meg, I'm a 23 year old, creative, Wicked Woman and I create monsters. I am a Special Effects (SFX) make-up artist and Character Creator from Liverpool. This means that I design and create unreal characters and monsters, make fake wounds and gore and can alter actor/model appearances.

I have always been a fan of fantasy and horror from a young age. Starting with the classic, family friendly Doctor Who to growing older with the adrenaline rush of modern horror and gore with the Saw franchise being one of my absolute favourites!

I've always had a love for general art and design, choosing to study it through all of my academic life, but I think I started dabbling in SFX when I was around 15 years old. Without much knowledge of this kind of art, I experimented with what I saw fit. PVA glue and tissue paper. (Do not try this at home.)

My past college tutor luckily worked with SFX! He helped me build up my skills and gave me the motivation to make my own home studio. I eventually felt confident enough to put myself out there and work on short films and at Halloween attractions.

Don't get me wrong, working at a Halloween attraction and the process of SFX make-up can be stressful, like most jobs, but being able to bring my own concepts to life, see the reactions and hear the screams and laughs of customers on opening night is all worthwhile!

I have so many inspirations in the SFX industry like Jordu Schell, Dick Smith and Rob Bottin; all ridiculously talented; but I have realised there are very few, well known female make-up artists in that field.

This, along with the amazing ladies on the Wicked Women course makes me want to pursue my dreams even more.

Follow me on Instagram @shine_tingling #wickedwomen #SFX #specialeffectsmakeup


67 views2 comments
bottom of page